UP Cebu institutional video lands gold award at international conference and exhibit

UP Cebu institutional video lands gold award at international conference and exhibit

UP Cebu’s five-minute video used the traditional Cebuano rice preparation called puso (boiled rice packed in weaved coconut fronds) as a metaphor for education, highlighting how hard work and perseverance, strength and faith helped a young man come through the hardships of earning high-quality education. (WATCH: UP Cebu institutional video) His mother, portrayed by Prof. Ligaya Rabago, never failed to support him and thus represented the many Filipino parents who sacrifice a lot for the education of their children. Genuine and poignant, the video received an overwhelming positive feedback from the audience at the 5th QS-Maple Professional Leaders in Education Conference and Exhibit in […]

UP Diliman professor Alfredo Lagmay receives 2015 Plinius Medal

Professor Alfredo Lagmay, professor at the University of the Philippines (UP) National Institute of Geological Sciences and executive director of the Nationwide Operational Assessment of Hazards (NOAH), received the 2015 Plinius Medal from the European Geosciences Union for his “outstanding interdisciplinary natural-hazard research and natural-disaster engagement in the Philippines, particularly with respect to volcanic hazards, earthquakes, typhoons, landslides and floods.” Lagmay is a leading international scientific expert on natural disasters. He led the study on the geological hazards of the Bataan Nuclear Power Plant, which was used as scientific basis for the deliberations on the rehabilitation of the mothballed nuclear plant. […]

Top UPCAT qualifiers welcomed by President Pascual

“Adapt to University life, embrace opportunities to develop or acquire new skills, explore new worlds, accept and celebrate diversity, and further build your character and define your own identity.” These are just some of the pieces of advice that UP President Alfredo Pascual gave the top 50 qualifiers of the UP College Admission Test (UPCAT) during the lunch reception hosted for them last 14 March 2015 at the Executive House in UP Diliman. Such learning activities and processes, he stated, are crucial in preparing oneself for the bigger world: the society outside the University walls. The top 50 examinees who compose only about […]

Dr. Grace Javier Alfonso is 2013 Concepcion D. Dadufalza Awardee for Distinguished Achievement

UP Open University (UPOU) Chancellor Dr. Grace Javier Alfonso is the latest recipient of the Concepcion D. Dadufalza Award for Distinguished Achievement. Dr. Alfonso, who is also a professor at the College of Mass Communication in UP Diliman, was chosen for her remarkable contribution as an academic leader, teacher and mentor.  It was under Dr. Alfonso’s leadership that the UPOU strengthened its position in the field of open and distance eLearning. She pursued institutional policies, organizational systems and infrastructure projects that allowed UPOU to be a truly open education learning institution. During her term, the Resource-based  Course Package as an approach to online course […]

NIP bags 2014 NRCP Most Outstanding Institution Award

NIP bags 2014 NRCP Most Outstanding Institution Award

The National Institute of Physics (NIP) was recognized by the National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP) as 2014 Most Outstanding Institution “for its contributions to the country as the leading center for physics research and education [with] sound academic and research policies geared for excellence [and] sustained and increasing generation of new knowledge.” The award was conferred to the UP Diliman-based institute at the 82nd NRCP General Membership Assembly held last March 11, 2015 at the Philippine International Convention Center in Manila. Dr. Roland Sarmago, NIP director, received the award on behalf of the Institute.  The NIP believes that the […]

UP Manila associate professor wins historic first Gawad Pangulo competition

UP Manila associate professor wins historic first Gawad Pangulo competition

Dr. Iris Thiele Isip-Tan of the Medical Informatics Unit in UP Manila bested three other UP faculty members in the final round of Gawad Pangulo: A Competition for Progressive Teaching and Learning held last 13 February 2015. Specializing in internal medicine-endocrinology, Dr. Isip Tan teaches the graduate introductory course on health informatics (HI 201) to doctors, nurses and pharmacists. “I want to see [my students] learning. I want to make learning visible,” she says. To do this, Dr. Isip Tan requires her students to create their own e-portfolios and personal learning networks on varied social media platforms, and takes advantage […]

Creative Work and Research Grantees

Arts and Letters Name of Proponent Constituent University Project Period Jamon, Roehl L. UP Diliman Agimat, anting-anting at iba pang kababalaghan: The definitive Revilla Dec 2011 – Nov 2012  Navarro, Raul UP Diliman Ang Musika sa Filipinas: Mga Pana-panahong Diskurso – Pre-kolonyal, Kolonyal, Neo-kolonyal Dec 2011  – Nov 2012  Chua, Apolonio UP Diliman Asinta sa Centennial ni Aurelio V. Tolentino at Kilatis sa Komedya Jul 2011 – Jun 2012  Gudiño, Ma. Rita UP Diliman LUAL – Transforming the Kiln and the Firing Process into an Arts Form Embodying the Relationship of Birthing and Firing Mar 2011 – Feb 2012 Aguila, […]

Concepcion D. Dadufalza Award for Distinguished Achievement

Awardees  (click on the name to read more) 2001 Dr. Caesar A. Saloma Professor of Physics National Institute of Physics College of Science, UP Diliman 2002 Dr. Romulo G. Davide Professor of Plant Pathology College of Agriculture, UP Los Baños 2003 Dr. Edgardo D. Gomez University Professor Marine Science Institute College of Science, UP Diliman 2004 Dr. Glecy C. Atienza Departamento ng Filipino at Panitikang Filipino Kolehiyo ng Arte at Literatura, UP Diliman 2006 Dr. Jose Y. Dalisay Jr. Professor of English Department of English & Comparative Literature College of Arts and Letters, UP Diliman 2007 Dr. Eduardo A. Padlan Adjunct […]

UP Arts Productivity System Awardees

For CY 2012-2014 Artist III Gerald Rey Lico Jose Dalisay, Jr. Josefino Toledo Artist II Alexander Cortez Dexter Santos Eugene Evasco Jonas Baes Jose Danilo Silvestre Josefina Estrella Leonilo Doloricon Patrick Flores Rolando Tolentino Rosario Torres- Yu Ruben De Jesus Sari Raissa Lluch Dalena Yason Banal Layeta Bucoy Artist I Danilo Arao Fernando Austria, Jr. Grace Alfonso J. Neil Garcia Maria Eileen Ramirez Priscelina Legasto Reuben Cañete Ricardo De Ungria Victor Emmanuel Carmelo Nadera, Jr. For CY 2011-2013 Maria Christine Muyco, Artist II La Verne Dela Peña, Artist II

Emerging Interdisciplinary Research Grantees

Cycle 5 Main Proponent Program Title Constituent Unit Duration Torio, Mary Ann Protein engineering of the major storage protein of mungbean enhanced with bioactive peptides exhibiting hypocholesterolemic activity UP Los Banos Lemence, Richard Automated Constructions of Phylogenetic Trees Networks of Languages in the Greater Central Philippines by a Feature-Sensitive Metric UP Diliman 2 years Innovero, Jennifer Physiological Studies of Team Sports and Allied Sports Athletes and the Effects of Moderate to High Altitude Training UP Baguio 2 years Garcia, Alipio Anthropological, Mathematical Symmetry and Technical Characterization of Cordillera Textiles UP Baguio 2 years Fernando, Lilia Development of a Nanoparticle-Based Biosensor […]