Eight UP researchers among the 2019 Outstanding Young Scientists

Eight researchers from the University of the Philippines have been chosen by the National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines (NAST PHL) to receive the 2019 Outstanding Young Scientist Award for their important contributions in their field of specialization.

They are Dr. Rico C. Ancog (UP Los Baños), Dr. Pia D. Bagamasbad (UP Diliman), Dr. Nathaniel S. Orillaza Jr. (UP Manila), Dr. Lilibeth A. Salvador-Reyes (UP Diliman), Dr. Patricia J. Sanchez (UP Los Baños), Dr. Raymond Francis R. Sarmiento (UP Manila), Dr. Michael Francis Ian G. Vega II (UP Diliman) and Dr. Michael C. Velarde (UP Diliman).

Ancog is an assistant professor at the UP Los Baños School of Environmental Science and Management who studies socio-ecological systems for efficient resource conservation and resilience.

Bagamasbad’s research interest is in the molecular mechanisms of hormone action including those related to cancer. She is an associate professor at the UP Diliman National Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology.

Orillaza is a hand surgeon and an associate professor at UP Manila Department of Orthopaedics. As a scientist, he publishes on upper extremity care, orthopedic research, and patient education and involvement in care.

Salvador-Reyes, an assistant professor at the UP Diliman Marine Science Institute, works on medicinal and natural products chemistry, biochemistry and pharmacology. She investigates new lead compounds for drug discovery.

Sanchez carries out research in areas such as environmental hydrology, and climate change adaptation and mitigation. She is an associate professor at the UP Los Baños School of Environmental Science and Management.

Sarmiento is an expert on biomedical and health informatics. He is a physician and a clinical assistant professor at UP Manila’s Medical Informatics Unit.

Vega, an associate professor and the deputy director for academic affairs at the UP Diliman National Institute of Physics, is known for his works in the field of gravitational physics.

Velarde studies cell cycle control, cellular senescence, aging and cancer. He is an associate professor and the deputy director for research and extension at the UP Diliman Institute of Biology.

Bagamasbad, Salvador-Reyes, Vega and Velarde are recipients of the Balik PhD grant implemented by the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs.

The awards will be handed out by NAST PHL on 11 July 2019 at EDSA Shangri-La. A total of 12 scientists have been selected for the recognition for 2019.

Every year, NAST PHL names Outstanding Young Scientists out of Filipino investigators under 41 years old who have made valuable research contributions in agricultural sciences; biological sciences; chemical, mathematical and physical sciences; engineering sciences and technology; health sciences; and social sciences. NAST PHL is the country’s highest recognition and scientific advisory body.