Featured Faculty and REPS

National Artist Francisco Feliciano, 73

On the same day the monstrous rains of Typhoon “Mario” submerged Metro Manila, conductor-composer and National Artist for Music Francisco Feliciano quietly passed away after a long battle with cancer, which has reached stage 4. He was 73.

Earlier, the UP College of Music paid tribute to Feliciano (along with coartist Ramon Santos) with a concert showcasing his works.

His remains will be at the Holy Angels Memorial in Morong, Rizal, until early Sunday and will be moved to Loyola Commonwealth Sunday until Tuesday.  Necrological service follows at the CCP on Sept. 24, after which burial follows at the Libingan ng mga Bayani.  [Read more]


UPV and UP Baguio profs named Metrobank Foundation outstanding teachers 2014 

Dr. Resurreccion B. Sadaba of the University of the Philippines-Visayas (Miag-ao, Iloilo) and Dr. Teodora D. Balangcod of the University of the Philippines-Baguio (Baguio City) are the winners for the higher education competition.

Read more:  http://manilastandardtoday.com/2014/08/18/metrobank-foundation-names-outstanding-teachers-for-2014/

UP Faculty recognized in DOST Institutional/National Science and Technology Week 2014 Awards

The Outstanding Science Administrator Award/Dioscoro L. Umali Medal was awarded to Reynaldo V. Ebora, PhD., Director of the National Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology (BIOTECH) at UP Los Banos, who led the commercialization and technology transfer of biofertilizer products which are being used by the Department of Agriculture in its organic farming program nationwide. BIOTECH has established itself as a pioneering research institution in the Philippines under his leadership.

The Outstanding Research and Development Award for Applied Research/Julian A. Banzon Medal was given to Rhodora V. Azanza, PhD., Professor at the Marine Science Institute, UP Diliman. She led the research programs “Detection and Mitigation of Technology and Early Warning System for Philippine Harmful Algal Blooms (HAB Tech)” and “Molecular Studies of HAB Causative Organisms and Associated Bacteria (HAB Genomics)”, which aimed to develop technology for the detection and mitigation of HABs, more popularly known as “red tides”.

See more:  http://bayanihan.org/2014/07/25/dost-nast-recognize-2014-outstanding-filipino-scientists-engineers-innovators/

Tribute Concert to National Artists Ramon P. Santos & Francisco F. Feliciano

4 September 2014, Thursday
6pm at the Abelardo Hall Auditorium, UP College of Music

Admission is free but limited seats are available on first come first served basis.

UP university professor emeritus Santos is known for his significant contributions in studying Philippine traditional music and for his search for new directions in music, focusing on non-Western and Southeast Asian traditions. He was former dean of the UP College of Music and is currently teaching at the Theory and Composition Department. Feliciano is known for his significant contributions in bringing global awareness to the indigenous musics of the Philippines and for his leadership in liturgical music in Asia. He was a faculty member of the UP College of Music, founded the Asian Institute for Liturgy and Music (AILM), and is currently the president of Samba-Likhaan Foundation.

The program, highlighted by tribute addresses from their noted colleagues, will feature performances of some of the composers’ celebrated works to be rendered by UP Cherubim and Seraphim conducted by Dr. Elena Rivera-Mirano, guitarists Lester Demetillo and Nathan Matintim, AILM Chorale and AUIT under Mary Katherine Trangco and Eudenice Palaruan, UP Rondalla Ensemble, sopranos Bianca Camille Lopez and Jade Rubis Riccio with pianist Albert Roldan (pianist), and UP Dance Company with choreography by Steve Villaruz, restaged by Herbert Alvarez for the event. UP Dance Company is under the direction of Angel Baguilat and partially consists of dancers Sarah Maria Samaniego
, Angella Betina Carlos, 
Michael Barry Que
, Minette Caryl Masa. The UP Contemporary Music Ensemble (CONEMUS) and Department of Musicology’s Tugtugang Musika Asya (TUGMA) will complete the show.

For more information and reservations, please call 926-0026/ 981-8500 local 2639 or visithttp://www.facebook.com/UPCollegeofmusic or twitter.com/UPCMu2014

Academician Ramon C. Barba named as National Scientist

By virtue of Malacañang Proclamation No. 783 signed by President Benigno S. Aquino III on June 6, 2014, Academician Ramon C. Barba was conferred the Rank and Title of National Scientist for his distinguished achievements in the field of plant physiology, focusing on induction of flowering of mango and on micropropagation of important crop species that have earned him national and international accolades. Read more click here.

 Malacañang Bestows National Scientist Honor to Academician  Edgardo D. Gomez

Through Malacañang Proclamation No. 843 signed by President Benigno Aquino III on August 8, 2014, Academician Edgardo D. Gomez was proclaimed National Scientist in recognition of his sterling contributions and achievements as a researcher, scientist, conservation advocate, and mentor in invertebrate biology and ecology, giant clam culture and restoration, and coral reef assessment and conservation. He was also acclaimed as an institution-builder, administrator, resource-mobilizer, and a role model in public service, which gained and earned him distinctive international accolades here and abroad. Read more click here.

Academician Gavino C. Trono, Jr. Is National Scientist

Renowned for his outstanding contributions in the field of tropical marine phycology with focus on seaweed biodiversity, biology, ecology, and culture, Acd. Gavino C. Trono, Jr. was conferred the rank and title of National Scientist by virtue of Proclamation No. 737signed by President Benigno Aquino III on March 13, 2014. Read more click here.

National Scientist Title Conferred on Academician Angel C. Alcala

Through Malacañang Proclamation No. 782 dated June 6, 2014, President Benigno S. Aquino conferred on Academician Angel C. Alcala the Rank and Title of National Scientist in recognition of his outstanding contributions to society, specifically his seminal and original research on the systematic, ecology, and diversity of Philippine amphibians and reptiles, and, marine biodiversity, reef fishes and conservation (marine-protected areas). Read more click here.

The National Academy of Science and Technology recognizes outstanding young UP scientists.

The National Academy of Science and Technology presented twelve individuals with the Outstanding Young Scientist (OYS) award during the awarding ceremony held last July 10, 2014 at the Philippine International Convention Center. The OYS awardees included Rommel Sulabo (Animal Science, UP Los Banos); Ian Kendrich Fontanilla (Genetics – UP Diliman), who also received the Third World Academy of Sciences recognition; May Lim (Physics – UP Diliman); Richard Lemence (Mathematics – UP Diliman), Paolo Antonio Silva (Opthalmology – UP Manila), Geoffrey Ducanes (Economics – UP Diliman), and Analyn Salvador-Amores (Social and Cultural Anthropology – UP Baguio). Read more click here.