NIP bags 2014 NRCP Most Outstanding Institution Award

The National Institute of Physics (NIP) was recognized by the National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP) as 2014 Most Outstanding Institution “for its contributions to the country as the leading center for physics research and education [with] sound academic and research policies geared for excellence [and] sustained and increasing generation of new knowledge.”

The award was conferred to the UP Diliman-based institute at the 82nd NRCP General Membership Assembly held last March 11, 2015 at the Philippine International Convention Center in Manila. Dr. Roland Sarmago, NIP director, received the award on behalf of the Institute. 

The NIP believes that the Philippines “can build a scientific nation.” Its high impact research projects have been featured in numerous publications and citations in international peer-reviewed journals. Over the years, it has maintained high graduation rates of MS and PhD Physics students and has figured strongly in academic and scientific societies as leaders. Above all, it has been tireless in its extension and public service work that strengthens science in the Philippines. 

The NIP is “an inspiration that a Philippine institution can be at par with the [best institutions in the] world,” according to the NRCP citation.

The NIP faculty headed by Director Roland Sarmago (second row from the back, in blue-green shirt) during last year’s assessment and planning workshop in Batangas

Dr. Percival Almoro received the 2014 NRCP Achievement Award in Physics for his contributions to the fields of holography and optical metrology while Dr. Wilson Garcia was given the NRCP Service Award for his inspiring leadership and service as Chair of Physics Division and as member of the NRCP Governing Board for 2011 to 2015. Almoro and Garcia, associate professors at the NIP, were also among the first recipients of the Advanced Technology Award given by UP President Emerlinda Roman in 2005. 

Through a Presidential Executive Order, the former Department of Physics of the UP Diliman College of Arts and Sciences was transformed into the National Institute of Physics in 1983.

The NIP envisions itself as a prominent institute in the Asia-Pacific region in the field of pure and applied physics education and research. On the average, it has about 300 students for all levels in the baccalaureate degree programs and about 50 in the graduate degree programs each year.