Number of UP Scientists for 2017-2019 is highest in 12 years

Seventy-one of UP’s most accomplished researchers in the physical and natural sciences, social sciences, management and economics, and engineering were officially recognized as UP Scientists for 2017-2019 in a ceremony held on 21 March at the Bahay ng Alumni in UP Diliman.

The UP Scientists were chosen through the rigid selection process of the UP Scientific Productivity System where they were assessed for scientific productivity (publications and other output such as patents) and international scientific recognition.

President Danilo Concepcion said in a message read by Executive Vice President Teodoro Herbosa that the awards are given in gratitude of the contributions of the UP Scientists. “Ultimately, they are symbols of our thanks for the good that you have done – for the discoveries you have made using the tools of science, for the minds that you have opened as teachers and scholarly communicators, and last but not least for being outstanding examples of what the Filipino intellect has to offer in making the world a better place,” the President imparted to the scientists.

The UP Scientists with the officials of the University. Photo credit: Alice Morta

For 2017-2019, UP has 43 UP Scientists I, 12 UP Scientists II and 16 UP Scientists III. A good number of the UP Scientists I and II are from UP Los Baños while many of the UP Scientists III come from UP Diliman.

Vice President for Academic Affairs Maria Cynthia Rose Bautista noted the unprecedented increase in the number of awardees. “This year reflects a triumph for the UP Scientific Productivity System as we award the most number of scientists in its 12-year history,” she said. “This is proof that UP is even better as a stronghold of high-quality, innovative research.”

The UP Scientific Productivity System, instituted in 2005, is implemented by the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs to support the development of science and technology and encourage and reward scientific productivity.

The title comes with a monetary award: P150,000 annually for UP Scientist I, P200,000 annually for UP Scientist II and P250,000 annually for UP Scientist III. Awardees hold the title for two years, after which, they make a decision to apply for renewal and go through the evaluation process once more.

See the full list of awardees here.