UP Diliman and UP Los Baños to compete in the final round of the 2nd Gawad Pangulo for Progressive Teaching and Learning

Four months after the nomination deadline of the 2nd Gawad Pangulo for Progressive Teaching and Learning, the winner is now ready to be announced as the finalists deliver their live course presentations on 18 December 2015.

Two faculty members will be representing UP Diliman in the final round. They are Assistant Professor Maria Cecilia G. Conaco of the Marine Science Institute, College of Science and Professor Luis G. Sison of the Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute, College of Engineering.

Meanwhile, UP Los Baños will be represented by Alleli Ester C. Domingo, associate professor at the Institute of Mathematical Sciences and Physics and Reginald Neil C. Recario, assistant professor at the Institute of Computer Science. Both are from the College of Arts and Sciences.

They will be judged according to the excellence and progressive quality of their teaching philosophy, course syllabus content, course materials and course activities.

Gawad Pangulo for Progressive Learning and Teaching was launched in 2013 by the Office of the President and the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs.

The first winner was Dr. Iris Thiele Isip-Tan, a medical doctor from the Medical Informatics Unit of UP Manila who patterned her teaching videos after the massive open online courses of top foreign universities. Dr. Isip-Tan teaches the graduate introductory course on health informatics (HI 201) to doctors, nurses and pharmacists. 

For this edition, the nominated courses are Topics in Marine Science: Emerging Non-Model Organisms (Conaco), Problem Solving (Domingo), File Processing and Database Systems (Recario) and Technopreneurship (Sison).

The final round and awarding ceremony will be held at the STTC Auditorium of the NISMED Building along Quirino Avenue in UP Diliman. The program will start at 2:00 p.m.