UP has 71 UP Scientists for 2018-2020

The Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs is pleased to announce the names of the 71 researchers who have been selected for the UP Scientific Productivity System (SPS) 2018-2020.

The number of nominees from different constituent universities was trimmed down by the six-member committee based on rigorously determined indicators of scientific productivity. These include publications in prestigious journals as authors or editors-in-chief, technological outputs such as patents, and scientific recognition in the form of international scientific awards and membership in international boards as editors.

For 2018-2020, UP has 44 UP Scientists I, 11 UP Scientists II and 16 UP Scientists III. UP Diliman has the most number of UP Scientists at 44. Seven constituent universities are represented in this batch. The recipients are from across several disciplines including agricultural economics, rural development, engineering, mathematics, physics, geology, mass communication, marine science and archaeology. 

Aside from the title, the scientists will be given a sum of money annually for three years: P150,000 for UP Scientist I, P200,000 for UP Scientist II, and P250,000 for UP Scientist III.

The awards ceremony will be held on 28 May 2019 at the School of Statistics Auditorium in UP Diliman.

The SPS was established to support the development of science and technology and encourage and reward scientific productivity in the University. It is implemented by the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs.

View the complete list of awardees here.

View the photos on our Facebook page here.

Last updated: 4 June 2019