‘Vision’ and ‘global recognition’ yield accolades for two UP researchers

Two UP faculty members will be awarded by the National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines for outstanding merit in research and development.

Dr. Lourdes Ladrido-Ignacio, a professor emeritus at the UP-PGH Department of Psychiatry, was chosen as this year’s recipient of the Geminiano T. De Ocampo Visionary Award for Medical Research. The award is bestowed on clinical researchers who have created the vision for medical research that have blazed and/or pioneered the trail for medical innovations and health research and development.

The other awardee is Dr. Nathaniel P. Hermosa II, an associate professor at the National Institute of Physics of UP Diliman. He was endorsed by the Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) as the 2017 recipient of the TWAS Prize for Young Scientist in the Philippines for physics. The prize aims to encourage scientists to do their best work while winning global recognition.

The awarding ceremonies will be held on 12 October 2017 during which Dr. Ignacio and Dr. Hermosa will deliver their lectures.